Vitamin D is an essential nutrient that contributes to the normal function of the immune system and blood calcium levels which in turn supports the maintenance of normal bones and teeth. As fear of sun-exposure has grown and lifestyles have become more sedentary, exposure to the sun has dropped dramatically and vitamin D deficiency and the incidence of rickets has surged. The skin cannot create vitamin D if covered in sunscreen or clothing, it is thought that a sun cream with SPF15 will reduce the skin’s ability to synthesize vitamin D by more than 95%. Many older people and those from the communities who tend to wear more modest clothing are amongst the population groups most likely to suffer deficiency in vitamin D. Dietary sources include fortified foods, eggs and fatty fish. The Government advises that people who are housebound or cover their skin for long periods, all pregnant and breastfeeding women, people over 65 years of age and infants from 6 months to aged 5 should take vitamin D supplements. Vitamin D3 is the form of vitamin D that our bodies produce naturally, following a biotransformation of cholesterol following exposure to ultra violet rays from the sun. Specifically, Vitamin D3 is converted by the liver into the circulating form - 25(OH)D3. The circulating form is then converted, by the kidneys and other tissues into 1-25(OH)2D3, the active form, which is then able to instigate the physiological effects associated with vitamin D. This same conversion takes place with Vitamin D2 also, but some believe that the conversion is superior from D3. This is not true. The conversion of D3 to 25(OH)D is slightly more rapid than from D2. All Vitamin D supplements from Viridian Nutrition are vegan. Viridian Vitamin D3 400IU and 2000IU are derived from lichen.
|Ingredients||Vitamins D3 (2000IU) 50μg|
|Additional||Formulated in a base of alfalfa. All Viridian products are vegetarian, vegan and kosher-friendly.|
|Recommended Intake||Take as directed on the label or as directed by your healthcare professional.|
|Allergens||Please refer to the ingredients list for allergen information.|